Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

APPOINTMENT OF VICE-PRESIDENT

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that, at the Board meeting of the Company held on 25 October 2016, Mr. Wang De-xing (王德興) was appointed a vice-president of the Company with effect from the date of this announcement.

Set out below are brief particulars of Mr. Wang De-xing:

Mr. Wang De-xing ("Mr. Wang"), born in September 1959, aged 57, is a holder of a master's degree in business administration and a senior economist of researcher level. He is currently the chief economist of the Harbin Electric Corporation ("HE"). Mr. Wang was graduated from the School of Materials Science and Engineering of Beijing Steel and Iron Institute 北京鋼鐵學院 (presently known as University of Science and Technology Beijing 北京科技大學) and obtained an MBA degree from the Harbin Institute of Technology. Mr. Wang joined HE in 1982 and held various positions ever since, such as a technician of the central laboratory, secretary and acting manager of the heavy vessel factory of Harbin Boiler Works which used to be a member of the Group, as well as a secretary, factory manager, head of water wall branch, deputy chief economist and director of labor affairs, deputy general manager, deputy managing director, chairman and general manager of pipe first branch factory of Harbin Boiler Company Limited, before taking the position of the chief economist of HE in October 2016.

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Ai Li-song Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC

25 October 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Si Zefu, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent nonexecutive Directors of the Company are Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing and Mr. Yu Wenxing.