Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1133)

## **DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR**

As additional time is required for the Company to finalise certain information to be included in the Circular, it is expected that the despatch date of the Circular will be postponed to a date falling on or before 13 July 2012.

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 14A.47A of the Listing Rules.

Reference is made to the announcement of the Company dated 8 June 2012 (the "Announcement") in respect of, among other things, continuing connected transactions of the Company contemplated under the Financial Services Framework Agreement. Terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement unless defined otherwise.

As stated in the Announcement, a circular (the "Circular") containing, among other things, further information on the Financial Services Framework Agreement and the transactions contemplated thereunder, a letter of advice from the independent board committee and a letter of recommendation from the independent financial adviser, and the notice of EGM will be despatched to the Shareholders on or before 29 June 2012. As additional time is required for the Company to finalise certain information to be included in the Circular, it is expected that the despatch date of the Circular will be postponed to a date falling on or before 13 July 2012.

By order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited LIU Zhi-quan Company Secretary

28 June 2012, Harbin, PRC

As at the date of this announcement, the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Gong Jing-kun, Mr. Zou Lei and Mr. Duan Hong-yi; the executive Directors are Mr. Wu Wei-zhang and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Sun Chang-ji, Mr. Jia Cheng-bing, Ms. Li He-jun, Mr. Yu Bo and Mr. Liu Deng-qing.