Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR, CHANGE OF CHAIRMAN AND LIST OF DIRECTORS AND THEIR ROLE AND FUNCTION

Reference is made to the announcement dated 27 May 2016 of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "**Company**", together with its subsidiaries, the "**Group**") in relation to the resignation of chairman, non-executive director and chairman of the nomination committee. The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") of the Company hereby announces that at the Board meeting convened on 8 July 2016 by the Company, it was resolved under the authority granted at the 2015 Annual General Meeting to appoint Mr. Si Ze-fu as an executive director of the Company and elect Mr. Si Ze-fu as the newly-appointed chairman of the Company with immediate effect. His term of office will expire upon the conclusion of the next general meeting of the Company. Mr. Si Ze-fu will not receive any remuneration from the Company. Mr. Zou Lei ceased to be the chairman, non-executive director and chairman of the nomination committee of the Company with immediate effect.

The Company would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Zou Lei for his outstanding contribution to the Company and the Board during his tenure as director and chairman of the Company.

Biographical details of Mr. Si Ze-fu:

Mr. Si Ze-fu, born in 1958, aged 58, holds an MBA degree and the title of senior engineer. Mr. Si graduated from Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management majoring in management science and engineering studies. He has been the deputy factory manager, factory manager and party committee secretary of Dongfang Electrical Works, the deputy mayor of Deyang city, Sichuan province and deputy general manager, general manager, director, vice chairman and chairman of Dongfang Electrical Machinery Company Limited. He had served as vice chairman, general manager and deputy party group secretary of China Dongfang Electric Corporation since 2003, the chairman of Dongfang Electrical Machinery Company Limited from December 2006 to January 2008, the director, general manager and deputy party group secretary of China Dongfang Electric Corporation since 2008, the chairman of Dongfang Electric Corporation Limited since October 2007, the legal representative of China Dongfang Electric Corporation since April 2009. Mr. Si Ze-fu has been the chairman and party committee secretary of Harbin Electric Corporation since May 2016 as well as the chairman and party committee secretary of the Company since July 2016. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Si Ze-fu (i) did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years or any other major appointments and professional qualifications; (ii) does not hold any other positions with the Company and other members of the Group; and (iii) does not have any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong, nor does he have any relationship with any other directors, supervisors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Company.

In addition, there is no further information relating to Mr. Si Ze-fu required to be disclosed under Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

The Board would like to welcome Mr. Si Ze-fu to join the Board.

Upon the appointment of Mr. Si Ze-fu as an executive director and chairman of the Company, members of the Board of the Company are as follow:

Executive directors: Mr. Si Ze-fu (chairman), Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi

Independent non-executive directors: Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing and Mr. Yu Wen-xing

At the Board meeting convened on 8 July 2016, adjustment of the membership of the special committees under the Board and the appointment of Mr. Si Ze-fu as chairman of the Nomination Committee have been approved.

The composition of the special committees under the Board on which each Board member serves is as follows:

Committee Director	Strategy Development Committee	Audit Committee	Remuneration Committee	Nomination Committee
Si Ze-fu				chairman
Wu Wei-zhang	chairman			
Zhang Ying-jian	member			
Song Shi-qi			member	
Yu Bo		member	member	member
Liu Deng-qing		chairman	member	member
Yu Wen-xing	member	member	chairman	

By order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Ai Li-song Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC

8 July 2016

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Si Zefu, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent nonexecutive Directors of the Company are Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing and Mr. Yu Wenxing.