Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1133)

CHANGE OF CHAIRMAN, CHANGE OF DIRECTOR AND LIST OF DIRECTORS AND THEIR ROLE AND FUNCTION

Reference is made to the announcement dated 9 January 2015 made by Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "**Company**", together with its subsidiaries, the "**Group**") in relation to the resignation tendered to the Company by Mr. Gong Jing-kun. The Board of Directors (the "**Board**") hereby announces the election of Mr. Zou Lei, a non-executive director of the Company, as the newly-appointed chairman of the Company at the Board meeting convened on 18 March 2015. Mr. Gong Jing-kun ceased to be the chairman, non-executive director and chairperson of nomination committee of the Company with immediate effect.

The Company would like to express its sincere gratitude to Mr. Gong for his outstanding contribution to the Company and the Board during his tenure as chairman.

In addition, at the Board meeting convened on 18 March 2015, Mr. Yu Wen-xing was appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Company with immediate effect according to the authority granted at the 2013 annual general meeting. His term of office will expire upon the conclusion of the next following general meeting of the Company.

Biographical details of Mr. Yu Wen-xing:

Mr. Yu Wen-xing, aged 61, a retired senior engineer at professor level with a bachelor's degree. Mr. Yu was graduated from North China University of Water Resources and Electric Power, majoring in water resources and hydropower engineering and construction. Mr. Yu started his career in 1971. He has worked at "Wu-qi" Youth Farm ($\lceil \pm t \rfloor$ 青年農場) in Jiegou, Boai County, Henan Province, studied geology at Changsha Metallurgy Industry College (長沙冶金工業學校) under the Ministry of Metallurgical Industry and worked at Handan-Xingtai Administrative Bureau for Metallurgy and Mine (邯邢冶金礦山管理局) under the Ministry of Metallurgical Industry and worked at Handan-Xingtai Administrative Bureau for Metallurgy and Mine (邯邢冶金礦山管理局) under the China Water Resources Association (中國水利協會學術交流組), secretary of the secretariat and engineer of general office at the Ministry of Water Resources and Electric Power (水電部), deputy secretary at division grade of general office at the Agriculture and Electricity Department (農電司) and chief secretary at division grade of Water Resources and Electric Power Resources and Electric Power Department of Ministry of Energy and Industry (電力工業部 水電司). He has served as a deputy director of Beijing representative office of China Three

Gorges Corporation since 1993, and has subsequently been head of international cooperation department, head of general management department, head of construction department at Xiangjiaba Dam and assistant to the general manager. He has also served as a party committee member and head of discipline department of China Three Gorges Corporation since March 2006 and party committee member, head of discipline department and director of China Three Gorges Corporation since December 2010, and retired in June 2014. He has been an independent director of China XD Electric Co., Ltd. since December 2014.

Mr. Yu will not receive any remuneration from the Company.

Mr. Yu did not hold any directorship in any other listed companies in Hong Kong or overseas in the past three years or any other major appointments and professional qualifications. Save as disclosed above, Mr. Yu does not hold any other positions with the Company and other members of the Group.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Yu does not have any relationship with any other directors, supervisors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Company or any interests in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance of Hong Kong.

In addition, there is no further information relating to Mr. Yu required to be disclosed under Rule 13.51(2)(h) to 13.51(2)(v) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"). Save as disclosed above, there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Following the appointment of Mr. Yu, the Company has complied with the requirements under Rules 3.10(1) and 3.10A of the Listing Rules.

The Board would like to welcome Mr. Yu to join the Board.

Upon the appointment of Mr. Yu as an independent non-executive director of the Company, members of the Board of the Company are as follow:

Non-executive director: Mr. Zou Lei (Chairman)

Executive directors: Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian, Mr. Song Shi-qi and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu

Independent non-executive directors: Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing and Mr. Yu Wen-xing

At the Board meeting convened on 18 March 2015, the following re-designation of members of committees under the Board has been approved:

- (i) the appointment of Mr. Zou Lei as a chairperson of nomination committee;
- (ii) the appointment of Mr. Yu Wen-xing as a member of audit committee and the cessation of Mr. Zhang Ying-jian as a member of audit committee;
- (iii) the appointment of Mr. Yu Wen-xing as a chairperson of remuneration committee.

The roles of each member of the board within its committees are as follows:

Committees Directors	Strategy Development Committee	Audit Committee	Remuneration Committee	Nomination Committee
Zou Lei				Chairperson
Wu Wei-zhang	Chairperson			
Zhang Ying-jian	Member			
Song Shi-qi			Member	
Shang Zhong-fu	Member			
Yu Bo		Member	Member	Member
Liu Deng-qing		Chairperson	Member	Member
Yu Wen-xing	Member	Member	Chairperson	

By order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Gao Xu-guang Company Secretary

Harbin, PRC 18 March 2015

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian, Mr. Song Shi-qi and Mr. Shang Zhong-fu; the non-executive Director of the Company is Mr. Zou Lei; and the independent non-executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Yu Bo, Mr. Liu Deng-qing and Mr. Yu Wen-xing.